Devotions

 
     

 

back to devotions list page

Daily Readings for Advent 2008

The following readings are taken from the Liturgy of the Word of the Mass for each day of Advent. We encourage you to read them at home as part of your daily Advent Prayer. A suggested use is to read the scripture citation during the lighting of the Advent Wreath each day.

Advent Wreath Prayer Service

Sign of the Cross

Opening Prayer

Lord God, let your blessing come upon us as we light the candles of this wreath.
May the wreath and its light be a sign of Christ's promise to bring us salvation.
May he come quickly and not delay.
We ask this through Christ our Lord.
Amen.

Lighting of the Candle(s)

Reading from the Sacred Scripture

November 30 First Sunday of Advent Luke 21: 25-36
December 1 Monday Isaiah 2: 1-5
December 2 Tuesday Isaiah 11: 1-10
December 3 Wednesday, St. Francis Xavier Psalm 23: 1-6
December 4 Thursday Isaiah 26: 1-6
December 5 Friday Isaiah 29: 17-24
December 6 Saturday, St. Nicholas Psalm 147: 1-6
     
December 7 Second Sunday of Advent Luke 3: 1-6
December 8 The Immaculate Conception Luke 1: 26-38
December 9 Tuesday, Blessed Juan Diego Isaiah 40: 1-11
December 10 Wednesday Isaiah 40: 25-31
December 11 Thursday Matthew 11: 11-15
December 12 Friday, Our Lady of Guadalupe Luke 1: 39-47
December 13 Saturday, St. Lucy Psalm 80
     
December 14 Third Sunday of Advent Luke 3: 10-18
December 15 Monday Psalm 25: 4-9
December 16 Tuesday Matthew 21: 28-32
December 17 Wednesday Matthew 1: 1-17
December 18 Thursday Matthew 1: 18-25
December 19 Friday Luke 1: 5-25
December 20 Saturday Luke 1: 26-38
     
December 21 Fourth Sunday of Advent Luke 1: 39-45
December 22 Monday Luke 1: 46-56
December 23 Tuesday Luke 1: 57-66
December 24 Wednesday Luke 1: 67-79
December 25 Christmas Luke 2: 1-14

Silent Reflection

Our Father

Concluding Prayer

Father in heaven, our hearts desire the warmth of your love and our minds are searching for the light of your Word.
Increase our longing for Christ our Savior. Give us the strength to grow in love so that when he comes we may rejoice in his presence.
We ask this through Christ our Lord.
Amen
Sign of the Cross


An Advent Prayer

Sign of the Cross

Father, in the wilderness of the Jordan you sent a messenger to prepare people's hearts for the coming of your Son. Help me to hear his words and repent of my sins, so that I may clearly see the way to walk, the truth to speak, and the life to live for Him, our Lord Jesus Christ.
Amen

 

 
Home/ Office & Information/ Ministries/ Religious Ed./ Calendar/ Bulletin/ Parish Outreach Programs/ Devotions/ Youth Ministry/ Parish Sponsored Organizations/ Non sponsored Organizations/ Parish Activities/
Learn About the Catholic Church
 
St. James Catholic Church Webmaster: webmaster@stjameslititz.org